top of page

Making History & Cutting Ribbons


Emotions were running high and traditions were very deep. Saturday, September 26, 2015 was a night that I never want to forget. As I looked around, I saw a sense of agricultural pride in everyone that attended the Blue Jacket Society Ceremony and the Ribbon Cutting Ceremony of the CoBank Center for Agricultural Education. This building is a product of lots of hard work, a big dream, and hours of dedication. Throughout the night, I couldn’t stop smiling from ear to ear. Why? Well it consisted of hearing people tell their story of their blue corduroy jacket that they wore years ago, listening to my teachers tell about their time and dedication to the new building, watching the ribbon officially being cut, and mingling with old and new faces that have the same passion that I do. Because of the hard working individuals that fueled agriculture in the past, we can continue to carry on traditions, the lifestyle and the passion for the future. I am ecstatic that I was a part of that history as a student at Colorado State University. When I become an Agricultural Educator, I can tell my students about this night and what it meant to me as well as everyone else that attended.

The night began with the Blue Jacket Society Ceremony. This was my first year witnessing this event, but I have always had a special relationship with my own blue corduroy jacket that I received when I was a freshman in high school. As we listened to the generous donors tell their FFA story, I brainstormed what I would say if I was giving up one of my most prized possessions. I would probably say how excited I was on my first day of Ag class freshman year to sign up to order my first blue jacket because I had seen the impact of FFA on my grandpa, dad, uncles, aunts, and cousins. I would probably talk about the journey I began when I was 14 years old and how I grew into my jacket. I would probably talk about the relationships that I had made while wearing that jacket. Thankfully, my FFA story isn't over yet and I can give many students the same opportunities my teachers gave me. Don Brown, the Colorado Commissioner of Agriculture explained how much FFA impacted him and placed his jacket in the shadow box. I had goosebumps throughout the whole ceremony. Story after story, I kept counting my blessings and thinking how special it is to be a part of the Agricultural Education program at CSU.

Before we headed to the new building for the ribbon cutting ceremony, Dr. Kellie Enns gave her speech. I am so appreciative of her, Nathan, and everyone else that put in the ideas, effort and everything else to make this dream a reality. I am blessed to have a personal relationship with these people beyond being my advisors and teachers. All of us students were standing in front of everyone and she reminded us that the people who donated their money to the Blue Jacket Society and for the CoBank Center is for us. That building, the teachers and the tools will help us learn, grow and prepare to be in our own Ag classroom impacting others. We were all teary eyed because we were overwhelmed with the support that was surrounding us.

Finally, it was time for the ribbon cutting ceremony. All week lots of Ag Ed students had been getting the building ready for everyone else to see, so the anticipation was high. “Thank a Farmer,” was playing for background music and it was perfect. Members from the Colorado FFA Foundation, CoBank, the Colorado State FFA Officers, and other important officials stood behind the ribbon or were holding the ribbon. A few people gave more speeches and then it officially happened. Hundreds of guests flooded into the new building. Reminiscing occurred and connections were made.

I was thrilled that I could spend this important night with some of my family. When we were younger, I didn’t necessarily know this cousin of mine but as the years went on, we figured out we were related and now our families have connected and made memories. Chance’s grandpa (on his mom’s side) and my grandma (on my dad’s side) were first cousins. I am not sure what that exactly makes us, but it is special. It is special because our families have connected from seeing each other at cattle shows and FFA events. Agriculture and family run deep roots and we will pass this on to the next generation since we are both going to school to be Ag teachers.

Two of the most important ladies in my life also got to join me at this event. My mom and grandma were my guests and they were so excited to be there. I got to give them a tour of the new building and show them what I got to help with while setting up and where I would be having class there. They saw many familiar faces that they have known from the agricultural industry and my mom saw some people she went to school with when she was a Ram. The only thing that could’ve made it better was if my dad was there but he was with my sister in Southwestern Colorado at an Angus cattle event. I couldn’t wait to show him pictures and tell him all about it. He was a past state officer, went to school at CSU, and farms with his dad, brothers, and nephew. He has passed down his values of farming, FFA, and tradition to me. I can’t wait for him to come up to Fort Collins so I can show him the beautiful new building.

Ed Cordes is a very special guy to Colorado FFA as well as my family. In the 1940’s, his family came to Roggen and my great grandpa loaned his dad money for farming. The money was paid back, the years passed and at the 2006 Colorado State Fair Mr. Ed Cordes bought my steer at the livestock sale. We found him afterwards and he explained this story to us and how he was extremely thankful for the kindness my great grandpa gave to his family. Ever since then, we have stayed connected with him and he bought my steer in 2014, too. He was one of the donors for the CoBank Center and he sponsored all of the power equipment for the shop in honor of his Ag instructor at Weld Central who was also my dad’s teacher. He said that if it wasn’t for Mr. Ball telling him that he had potential and giving him that blue jacket, that he would be shoveling to make a living. He was so happy seeing his jacket on the wall and took several pictures of it. I talked to him many times last night but one conversation was one that I want to play over and over in my head. He kept saying, “What a wonderful life we live in.” He continued saying how everything all connects and things find a way of making a full circle. He retold the story of my grandpa and his dad. He said how he wanted to help me and my family out so he bought my steers. He donated to this center because of his strong belief in the Ag classroom and was thrilled when he found out that I would be learning there. I couldn’t help but get tears in my eyes and then he continued on by saying, “Now, it’s your turn to impact the youth and the circle will continue.” It truly is a wonderful life that we live in and I am so thankful for this man and his dedication to Agricultural Education.

Throughout the night, I saw a lot of familiar and friendly faces. I got to introduce my friend Delaney to my family and several other people from Colorado that she didn’t know because she is from Oregon. We share the same passion for Ag Ed and I am so fortunate to get to go to school with her. I saw one of my elementary teachers, classmates, friends, other teachers, grandparents, industry representatives, and more. No matter the person, we were all there for the same reason. We all believe in the future of agriculture.


bottom of page